Skip to content

The Bread of Life: Some Food for Thought from D.A. Carson

10 September, 2008

I am the living bread that came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever. And the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh.” The Jews then disputed among themselves, saying, “How can this man give us his flesh to eat?” So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day. For my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him. As the living Father sent me, and I live because of the Father, so whoever feeds on me, he also will live because of me. This is the bread that came down from heaven, not like the bread the fathers ate and died. Whoever feeds on this bread will live forever.” (John 6:51-58 )

‘[Jesus] is the bread of life — not merely the antitype of the Old Testament manna and the real significance of the feeding of the five thousand but something more. The graphic language (of John 6:51-58 ) reminds us of what everyone in an agrarian culture knew, something we so easily forget when we buy food in cardboard boxes, plastic containers, and tin cans; we live only because other living things die. If no other living thing dies, we do not eat: the cow and the cod, the carrots and the parsnips must die; otherwise we will. We feed on Jesus: he dies, or we do. And with the Old Testament curses lying in the background, the odious death of a man hanging on a tree bespeaks not merely the most cruel of the three Roman modes of execution but the curse of God. But because the death of that God-damned man tore the veil of the temple (Matt 27:51; cf. Heb 9:3, 8; 10:19-20) and opened the way into the Most Holy Place, we see, too, that either we would be cursed or he would be.’ …

One Comment
  1. creedorchaos permalink*
    11 September, 2008 3:00 pm

    How come all the Baptists can preach at WSC? Is it because they read a lot of Carson?

Comments are closed.

