Skip to content

My Present from Mrs Chaos Just Came in the Mail

6 February, 2009

2044When I got this in the mail I almost did a back flip. I have just begun sinking my teeth into this collection of articles. It’s impossible to put down. Some of the finest and most helpful exegesis of the Scriptures out there today. Especially, given the strange wind of doctrines whirring about in our midst!

So far I’ve read T.D. Gordon’s very clear essay (he’s becoming one of my favorites) and Old Testament legend Brian Estelle’s illuminating work (and there’s a gold mine for exegetes in his footnotes!) which I actually had the privilege of listening to during class last year. It was one of my favorite lectures in sem. I’ll give a more detailed review when I am finished and when I can , however, I will say that so far this book has already helped me immensly in my preparation for preaching through Galatians.

~love Chaos

5 Comments
  1. 7 February, 2009 6:19 pm

    The Mrs. bought you that??!! I hope you do something very nice for her on Valentine’s Day. I wish my wife would buy me books. By the way, Calvin’s Tracks and Letters are available from Banner of Truth for only $80. Check it out:http://beholdingthebeauty.blogspot.com/2009/02/deal-of-century.html

  2. 8 February, 2009 7:06 am

    Hi Chaos!

    Great minds think alike? (well, at least you and Dr. Riddlebarger)

    I saw his latest post in Riddleblog refer to the Canons of Dordt, and I added Article 6 to Article 5 that he quoted to post the following at my website yesterday:

    “What the Ten Commandments could not do, God performed”

    CANONS OF DORDT
    THIRD AND FOURTH HEADS OF DOCTRINE
    Of the Corruption of Man, His Conversion to God, and the Manner Thereof.

    “Article 5. In the same light are we to consider the law of the decalogue (WJH, that is the Ten Commandments), delivered by God to his peculiar people the Jews, by the hands of Moses. For though it discovers the greatness of sin, and more and more convinces man thereof, yet as it neither points out a remedy, nor imparts strength to extricate him from misery, and thus being weak through the flesh, leaves the transgressor under the curse, man cannot by this law obtain saving grace.

    Article 6. What therefore neither the light of nature, nor the law could do, that God performs by the operation of the Holy Spirit through the word or ministry of reconciliation: which is the glad tidings concerning the Messiah, by means whereof, it hath pleased God to save such as believe, as well under the Old, as under the New Testament.”

    My previous post was also on this subject. Thanks for the book referral.

    Yours truly,
    Bill

  3. creedorchaos permalink*
    9 February, 2009 9:34 pm

    SC: Yeah, I intend to repay her…10 more kids 🙂 oops, maybe not… she just responded “well, in that case, I’ll never buy another book again!”
    Actually, we’re going to the symphony (Beethoven’s only opera + Mendelson’s “Hymn of Praise.” And we’re going to have a nice dinner to boot. But I can never out-giver my lovely bride.
    I’ll try to post a review but I have to admit it will be heavily biased. I love the editors, Baugh…and T.D.G.
    Such helpful stuff though and really fun to read, especially if you’re a preacher!

    BH: Thanks brother! That could fit very nicely into my next sermon. Very nice! Hope you and yours are well.
    Peace, brethren.

  4. inwoolee permalink
    11 February, 2009 11:59 am

    Plan to get that book soon.

  5. 15 February, 2009 7:16 pm

    It’s absolutely killer. I’m serious. I’m going through it now to prepare for my sermon series. Just killer. Every pastor that cares at all about the clear preaching of the gospel needs to own a copy or 3.
    p

Comments are closed.

